The Heart of Social Work Award

In 1995, NANFED established the Heart of Social Work Award to recognize and acknowledge excellence in our partners in social work field education. In the years since, the award has honored field instructors who have made outstanding contributions to field education and the social work profession.

Nominees are evaluated in three categories:

  1. Skill in field instruction and teaching

  2. Service to the University / School / Program

  3. Creativity and innovation in field instruction

Recent recipients:

2017: Theresa Kelly McPartlin, St. Paul, MN

2016: Heather McDonald, Toronto, ON

2015: Carol Heinisch, Denver, CO

2014: Illana Perlman, Toronto, ON

2013: Nancy Jefferson Mance, Los Angeles, CA

2012: Michael Herskovitz, New York, NY

2011: George BaboilaSt. Paul, MN

2010: Joseph Scalise, St. Louis, MO, and Tammy Muskat, Toronto, ON

Please note: This award was not given in 2018 or 2019, but will resume in 2020.

the Dean Schneck Memorial Award

In 2014 NANFED launched the The Dean Schneck Memorial Award for Distinction in Social Work Field Education, recognizing long-term, significant contributions to field education practice, leadership, and scholarship.  

Dean Schneck, who passed away in 2012, helped form NANFED in the late 1980s. He served as the Director of Field Education at the University of Wisconsin - Madison for nearly 30 years. Through Dean’s advocacy, the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) created the Commission on Field Education, establishing the importance of field education to social work education. This award is given in honor of his generosity, warmth and dedication to social work field education.  

Past Recipients:

2015: Jo Ann McFall, Chair of the Council on Field Education (2012-15), Associate Director for Field Education and Community Programs at Michigan State University

2014: Emeline Homonoff, faculty emeritus at Simmons College, and founding editor of the Field Educator Journal